Please refer to Texas Occupations Code Sec. 1051.305 and
and Rule 1.23
to review the requirements and application procedures for architectural registration by reciprocal transfer. A registrant for reciprocal registration
must have completed an education program substantially equivalent to a NAAB-accredited professional degree in architecture, as well as completed
experience and examination requirements, in order to qualify for licensure. Alternatively, an applicant may show eligibility for registration through
NCARB certification. If you have any questions prior to submitting an application, please contact our registration department at the email address provided below.
(if you are a military veteran, please call 512-305-8527 prior to applying.)
The current application fee for registration by reciprocity is $150.00
If you submit your NCARB record to support your reciprocal registration, you will be contacted by TBAE when your record is received. At that time,
TBAE will verify payment of the application fee.
Once Tentatively Approved, and you agree to work by all Texas Statutes, you will be asked to pay the Initial Registration Fee of $200.00.
This fee is due only after you have been tentatively approved for registration. Please do not send this fee until you receive the tentative
approval letter, and have completed the fingerprint requirement.
The mission of the Texas Board of Architectural Examiners (TBAE) is to serve the State of Texas by protecting
and preserving the health, safety, and welfare of the Texans who live, work, and play in the built environment through the regulation
of the practice of architecture, landscape architecture, and interior design.