Landscape Architectural Registration by Reciprocal Transfer

Please refer to Rule 3.22 and Rule 3.23 to review the requirements and application procedures for landscape architectural registration by reciprocal transfer.

Application Process

Apply to Texas by online application and electronic payment

  1. To apply and pay the fee online, create an account and provide the requested information.
  2. Provide TBAE your Proof of Legal Status.
  3. Fingerprints: New applicants must complete a mandatory background check. See procedures here (

You must support your reciprocal application to Texas by one of the two methods listed below. If you have your CLARB record transmitted to TBAE, it is not necessary to follow the Direct Application mentioned below.

Option 1: To apply Directly (without a CLARB transmittal), the following items are needed:

  • Certificate of Standing. (Licensure Verification and Exam History) sent directly from your State Licensing Board. Individuals holding active certificates of registration in other jurisdictions applying for registration in Texas by reciprocal transfer shall be considered upon submittal of the application and a Certificate of Standing.
  • A Certified College Transcript (secure e-mailed Transcripts from your college are now accepted)

Option 2: To apply with a CLARB Council Record:

  • Individuals holding certificates of registration in other jurisdictions applying for registration in Texas by reciprocal transfer shall be considered upon transmittal of their CLARB record. All arrangements for development of the CLARB record will be the responsibility of the applicant. You may contact CLARB in Reston VA at (571) 432-0332. Visit the CLARB Web site to request transmittal of your CLARB record to Texas.


The current application fee for registration by reciprocity is $150.00

If you submit your CLARB record to support your reciprocal registration, you will be contacted by TBAE when your record is received. At that time, TBAE will verify payment of the application fee.

Once Tentatively Approved, and you agree to work by all Texas Statutes, you will be asked to pay the Initial Registration Fee of $200.00 This fee is due only after you have been tentatively approved for registration. Please do not send this fee until you receive the tentative approval letter, and have completed the fingerprint requirement.

Contact: Registration Records Coordinator (

The mission of the Texas Board of Architectural Examiners (TBAE) is to serve the State of Texas by protecting and preserving the health, safety, and welfare of the Texans who live, work, and play in the built environment through the regulation of the practice of architecture, landscape architecture, and interior design.

Download Abode Reader
Hobby Building : 333 Guadalupe, Suite 2-350, Austin Texas 78701 : Telephone (512) 305-9000 : Fax (512) 305-8900
Copyright © 2005-2019, Texas Board of Architectural Examiners