2. Complete qualifying CE credits to cover any deficiency for the previous calendar year.

3. IN ADDITION to covering the deficiency for the previous calendar year, complete the full 12-hour requirement for the current calendar year. Your total for the current and past calendar year now should be 24 CE hours.

4. Renew your registration and safely certify that you have completed the required hours.

#### >May I get an extension to complete my continuing education requirements?

Unfortunately, no. Your license may not be renewed until all continuing education requirements are completed, and late fees will apply.

### >When am I required to have my CE completed?

You must complete 12 hours of CE every calendar year, between January 1 and December 31.

## >What are the penalties for CE violations?

Registrants may be subject to the following administrative penalties for failing to comply with continuing education requirements:

- Up to \$1200 for failing to maintain a detailed record of CE activities (\$100 per missing hour).
- Up to \$1200 for failing to timely complete minimum CE requirements (\$100 per missing hour).
- \$500 for falsely attesting to compliance with minimum CE requirements.

## Got an audit letter? Here's what to do.

If you receive a letter from TBAE requesting your CE documentation, that means you're being audited. But don't panic! The process is quite simple. Here's what you'll need to do.

The letter will say, "Re: Continuing Education— Audit Notice" Read the letter carefully. It will tell you all the basics. It also has contact information, useful if you have questions.

Fill out the included CEPH Log, and compile your supporting documentation for the Audit Period noted in the letter.

Send the CEPH Log and documentation to the address listed in the letter; if you're using a courier service, use the physical address in the letterhead at the top. You're also welcome to email your digital documents to ce@tbae.texas. gov (which gets you an emailed confirmation of receipt within a few days). Without documentation of your attendance, you will be subject to a fine.

Within 15 or so business days, you'll receive an email (hopefully) saying everything is in order and that you are fully compliant. If something is amiss, you'll be notified of what you need to do and how to do it.

TBAE CONTACT Continuing Education Coordinator (512) 305-8528 Phone (512) 305-8900 Fax ce@tbae.texas.gov



# CONTINIUING EDUCATION GUIDE

September 2023

505 E. Huntland Drive Suite 350 Austin, TX 78752 PO Box 12337 Austin, TX 78711-2337 (512) 305-9000 Phone (512) 305-8900 Fax ce@tbae.texas.gov

www.tbae.texas.gov

### CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS

All registrants with an active registration with the Texas Board of Architectural Examiners (TBAE) must complete 12 hours of Continuing Education (CE) each calendar year (January 1 through December 31).

All continuing education activities must include subjects pertinent to the health, safety, and welfare (HSW) of the public.

At least 1 hour must be related to barrier-free design, and at least 1 must be related to sustainable or energyefficient design. Even if you file for an exemption as a registrant from another jurisdiction with substantially equivalent CE requirements, you must complete the Texas requirement for 1 hour of continuing education in sustainable/energy efficient design and 1 hour of barrier-free design each calendar year.

At least 8 hours must be in structured activities.

Up to 4 hours may be self-directed study.

Acceptable supporting documentation is required for all CEPH credits.

Each registrant is encouraged to visit www.tbae.texas.gov/LawsAndEnforcement/ StatutesAndRules to read the full text of the continuing education rule for his or her profession:

> Architects – Rule 1.69 Landscape Architects – Rule 3.69 Registered Interior Designers – Rule 5.79

### FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

## >What is a CEPH (Continuing Education Program Hour)?

The rule defines 1 CEPH as a minimum of 45 minutes of actual course time.

#### >How do I report my continuing education activities to the board? Should I send TBAE proof of every program I complete?

When you renew your license, you must attest to completion of the continuing education requirements. You must maintain your documentation, but you need not send it to the Board unless we request it.

#### >How long should I keep my CEPH Log?

Keep your CEPH Log and supporting documentation for at least the most recent five calendar years.

#### >Can I carry over excess hours?

Yes. Excess hours earned in one calendar year may be carried forward and applied to the next calendar year only.

## >Where can I find a list of approved continuing education programs?

TBAE does not pre-approve any course for CE credit, and there is no direct reporting between TBAE and any continuing education provider. To determine if a course is acceptable, carefully consider whether it addresses subjects that are directly related to your profession and that are pertinent to the HSW of the public.

#### >I am registered in more than one profession. Do I have to complete Continuing Education credits for each profession?

You are required to maintain a separate log for each profession, but if you take a course that applies to both professions, you may claim credit and record that course on both CEPH logs.

### >What kind of documentation do I need to keep with my CEPH Log?

For structured courses, keep your certificate of completion. An AIA, LACES, or IDCEC transcript

is also acceptable. Remember: you are responsible for providing verification of attendance, should you be audited. If a course completion certificate is not provided, a letter from the provider indicating the date of the course, the title, and the duration of the course is acceptable. Without verification of attendance, structured course credit cannot be granted.

### >How should I document self-directed study?

Documentation for self-directed study may include a printed copy of the front cover of a book and the table of contents, or a copy of the article. Include your signed and dated statement indicating that you have reviewed the material, and the number of CEPH you are claiming.

#### >Can I send in my AIA, IDCEC, or CLARB LA CES transcript instead of completing the TBAE CEPH Log?

You may attach your transcript as supporting documentation, but you are still required to list those courses you wish to claim for credit on your CEPH Log. Please circle or highlight the activities on your professional transcript that you wish to apply for credit, and label with the corresponding item's letter from the CEPH Log.

>I need to renew my registration, but I just realized I'm a few hours short on my CE hours for last calendar year. What do I do? Under newly adopted rules, registrants may take advantage of a new process to correct a failure to complete CE in the previous calendar year. If you are missing any number of CE hours for the previous calendar year, follow these steps to achieve compliance:

1. Do *NOT* renew your registration until you are compliant with CE requirements, as follows.